Writing 101: Unlock the Mind

For my first assignment, I’m supposed to free write for 20 minutes and see what I can randomly come up with; no edits, no rewrites, just raw. Let’s see the clock…and here I go.

I don’t even know what to write, but I thought I’d share two random things I did today – if you know me, random is my middle name- which don’t make the best of stories, but they’ll do for the purpose of this assignment. Hey, there isn’t even a purpose, but to write for 20 minutes without stopping. Fine, they didn’t say you shouldn’t stop, but I am giving myself that extra task. I feel I should go back to the link and read, but I can’t stop.

Story #1: This isn’t really a story, but what I go through during this weather change. I walk to work most of the time, and the weather has been so inconsistent that I have found myself bringing two jackets to work; a winter one, and a light coat. It is pretty hilarious to my colleagues, because they always ask why would I bring two jackets. I always explain that it’s because I don’t know how the weather is going to change. What if it changes all of a sudden and it gets very windy and drops below zero? – Okay, I know what you’re thinking, and don’t give me that look. We all know the weather network is rarely accurate. It’s the job you still get to keep after a thousand mistakes (not hating). And, the end. That’s it. That’s the big story; I bring two coats to work.

Story #2: I was so tired today (hopefully not catching a cold).  I went in the kitchen to fill a small container with corn chips, because I wanted a quick snack that wasn’t vegetables or fruits. I dropped one to the ground, just one, and guess what I wanted to do with it. On a regular non-tiring day, I would quickly throw it in the trash bin, but not this day. Well, to be precise, I THOUGHT about doing this. Instead of walking to the trash bin – it was in the kitchen and not far at all, but my brain made it seem like I had to marathon my way to it – I wanted to take the corn chip, walk to the front door and toss it out to the front yard. My logic at that moment? None whatsoever. I guess that corn chip would have fed a squirrel or a raccoon, but it still would’ve been quite the sight for my neighbours. If any of them would have happened to be recording, I would have ended on Youtube for extreme laziness/randomness. I can see this being some cult horror story, ‘Penguin of the Corn Chip,’ or a triumphant story of a girl who saves her neighbour wild animals in ‘Lord of the Chips’.

And my fellow bloggers, that’s my 20 minutes. Savour the moment and your wasted time reading this :p. Okay, it can’t be wasted. I’m sure you have learned something from this.

❤ ❤ ❤ Love, Ellie ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

