Hormonal Bottomless Pit of Misery

I’ll be straight forward and this question: Ladies, why do we get so hungry before/during our periods (aka bloody hells)?

Mrs. Google has this answer for us (I substituted the word ‘period’ for ‘bloody hells’ because…you get it ladies): “Your body uses more calories during the time right before and in some cases during your [bloody hells.] This increase in calories makes your body burn more calories during this time, and as the calories as burning you’re going to feel hungry more often”.

Great, I would most certainly welcome extra nutrients on an extra energized day. Having said that, the hunger I feel when my day is filled with short walks to the market or the library, ending in overindulgence of my soft bed sheets, does not feel as right as it should.

Yes, bring on the chocolate, the endless glasses of orange juice, the cravings for paninis (yea, don’t ask), but bring them on when I need them. I do feel guilty for devouring unnecessary amounts of food – regardless of healthy levels-  when I know I don’t need it during these bloody hells. I can argue and say that I’m biologically predisposed to do so and blame it on the science, but if I stop even just a bit, would it make me feel less guilty or more moody?

My miscreant hormones provide discomfort during these days, and while my symptoms mostly consist of random cravings, I do tend to get a bit more sensitive than I usually am. Do I get grouchy? Sometimes. The thing is, it’s not just about feeling guilty because others cannot eat, but perhaps because the overindulgence causes the bloating to feel ten times worse. Yes, it is true, the bloating is not a myth or an insane idea installed in our heads, ladies. I usually battle it by drinking extra water and citrus juices (without sugar). It does help!

I’m going to be honest and say I prefer overindulging in ice cream, than tossing under my bed sheets waiting for the Advil to kick the heck out of the cramps. On the bright side, my cramps aren’t bad at all…yet!

Think happy thoughts! Think happy thoughts!

http://reactiongifs.com/?p=23857

❤ ❤ ❤ Love, Ellie ❤ ❤ ❤

2 thoughts on “Hormonal Bottomless Pit of Misery

Leave a Reply

