Calm Nostalgia

Stressful and tiring days are inevitable. How do you disconnect from your routine? Do you sit in silence, or do you blast music and dance like a maniac?

My calm comes with nostalgia, because what makes me feel better also reminds me of what isn’t here anymore. I lay on my bed and slowly run my fingers through my hair. I turn the lights off and drift away in memory to my grandparents’ place. I used to be the first one up and would stare into the ceiling during sunrise, until I felt the need to check on my grandparents and sister.

When I was a kid, life seemed so simple; school, homework, have fun. But now, it’s all about the future. Problems that once felt minuscule, are now chaos that sometimes spiral out of control. And why must I worry? I’m not immortal. I think I worry because one day I’ll have kids, and I want to provide them with the same sense of simplicity. Will that happen? I don’t know, but I can live my life and find out later.

I am grateful for the nostalgic memories, because it is a reminder of something good in my life. If they weren’t good, why would I miss them, right?

68810_448420863479_6028940_n

❤ ❤ ❤ Love, Ellie ❤ ❤ ❤

One thought on “Calm Nostalgia

Leave a Reply

