What makes a good Antagonist?

I don’t know about you, but I do like writing Antagonists. This isn’t because I like the dark side, but because it feels like a safe adventure where I get to lose control, and try to find a solution to the problems the Antagonist may evoke.

Everyone will have a different opinion, and this is why I love writing. You can choose how you write and what you write about. Antagonist have a dark side, and they can sometimes be evil without a change of heart. But, they can also be good, but confused individuals. Antagonist will sometimes be born the way they are, but often times they have a motivation to do the things they consider right.

1) They are not always evil. They may make errors, but their roots are not always evil.

2) They have a reason. Perhaps, not logical to the protagonist, but in their mind, they are doing what they think it’s right.

3) As a writer, sometimes you don’t know what makes them Antagonists. It has happened to me before, when I thought I was writing about a protagonist, but I realized half way, the character was not who I thought he was.

4) Antagonists are always in peril. Every step they take in the story, will retrace back to their initial problem. It is tough to fix an Antagonist.

5)  Antagonists can create frustration to the writer. YOU are creating the world, the conflict, and while characters may evolve throughout the story (without you intentionally doing so), it can feel like you’re betraying the story and characters.

While writing protagonists can also be excruciating, you know, because they’re not without flaws, I feel it is definitely a much energy-consuming task when I create Antagonists.

http://reactiongifs.com/?p=18414

Leave a Reply

