Think of going to the gym? Make the decision when you wake up, not before bedtime.

This is just me, but I’ve figured what works for me in terms of motivation. I don’t promise myself I’ll go to the gym the next day, before bedtime, because let’s be realistic, it is darn difficult to think about going to the gym when I wake up in the morning. After a good-night’s sleep, the last thing I want to do is get up from my warm bed. I look at the gym schedule the night before and set my alarm to a certain time (if it’s my day-off), but I don’t promise myself I’ll go on a specific time, unless there’s a gym class I really want to attend.

The key is not to add pressure or make yourself feel like going to the gym is going to be a burden to your day. If you go to bed relaxed, you’ll wake up hopeful and with the energy that will encourage you to go. If you wake up and feel too tired, then sleep in for a bit and go later. But, this will make exercise part of your life, not a roadblock. This has worked for me.

I’ve been told many times to make a schedule and stick to it; it doesn’t work for me. Life happens and sometimes it is not possible to stick to a workout schedule. The whole point is to reduce stress, live healthy, and be happy. Creating frustrations due to lack of gym attendance provoked by unexpected situations isn’t going to help me. 

That’s my opinion.

 

http://reactiongifs.com/?p=21057

❤ ❤ ❤ Love, Ellie ❤ ❤ ❤

5 thoughts on “Think of going to the gym? Make the decision when you wake up, not before bedtime.

Leave a Reply

