Boy Bands and teenage hormones

I was talking to my best friend the other day, and we watched a YouTube video about a reporter asking teenagers about their favourite boy singer or boy band (you know who I’m talking about). We were both in shock and almost about to barf. These teenagers told the reporter that it would be okay if their favourite singer were to enforce violence to get what they way, or that they can get away with anything because they’re ‘gods’ to them. ARE YOU KIDDING ME???? Had my parents heard me talk like that when I was a teenager, they would’ve built a dungeon and locked me in it for the rest of my life. Well, not really, but you know what I mean. I was taught self-respect AND to respect others since I was a fetus – someone would say thank you, and I would shake in the womb as a sign of ‘you’re welcome’.

Oh, I loved my boy bands when I was a teenager; Backstreet Boys, N*Sync, Westlife, New Kids on the Block (not my generation, though), Savage Garden, etc. I remember putting up posters of semi-shirtless Brian Littrell and Nick Carter, and drooling at the thought of meeting them one day – yes, I was going to marry them (pfft, teenage hormones). But, despite all my raging hormones, naive thoughts and dreams, I never worshipped them like gods, I would have never justified any acts of violence from them, nor did I ever disrespected the elder. I’m not going to pretend there weren’t crazy teenagers back then, because our technology was not as advanced (I feel like a dinosaur now, and I’m only 26 darn it!) as today, but it’s amazing how as an adult my perspective has changed so much and all I feel is sadness for what I see through the media. What is going on in this world? Is it because peer pressure has become too public thanks to media? Could some parents be blamed for this? After all, the video showed a DAD justifying an act of violence by saying as long as you’re a teenager, everything bad that you do should be taken lightly.

I get it, some of these artists are their role models, but that doesn’t mean they must justify their mistakes. It scares me to see that they can’t tell the difference between right and wrong. It’s like a chain of bad influences. It only takes one kid to shift the course of others, and some parents do find themselves helpless to help their teenagers – I feel for them. It’d just be nice if we all were in the same level. Is it too much to ask to be respectful? To be kind and loving to others?

 

http://reactiongifs.com/?p=19008

❤ ❤ ❤ Love, Ellie ❤ ❤ ❤

2 thoughts on “Boy Bands and teenage hormones

  1. Yeah I don’t understand it either. Even fans of Justin Bieber. The kid goes to jail and every trending topic on Twitter is a hashtag to support him. I don’t get it.

    • I think because of social media, we can see more of what we couldn’t see when we were teenagers. I’m sure my generation had crazy teenagers, but this is just unbearable to watch.

Leave a Reply

