Have you ever experienced Sleep Paralysis?

According to wikipedia: Sleep paralysis is a phenomenon in which people, either when falling asleep or wakening, temporarily experience an inability to move.

If you have ever experienced sleep paralysis, you know it feels like a force trying to pull you to the depths of hell. Everyone goes through different emotions and feelings, but here are a few things that you may have experienced before. If you have never experience this, consider yourself lucky :).

 

-The feeling is basically like this: you fall asleep and it feels like within a second you’re awake again. However, there is a plot twist: you may be awake, but your body is numb. Yes, you’re frozen, except you don’t feel cold (nor hot).

http://reactiongifs.com/?p=19045

-I’ve gotten better at sleeping with the lights off, but a while ago I had to have some sort of light source. When you are under sleep paralysis and your lights are off, you feel like you just died (no joke). If you have your lights on, at least you know you’re alive, because you see something that’s familiar. It makes a difference to your sanity.

http://reactiongifs.com/?p=15324

-Now that you are aware you are under a paralysis, it just gets worse. The dreadful feeling of being hunted by a demonic beast begins to cover every inch of your body, making your heart palpitate and begging the angels to stop the fear. Oh, and did I mention you can’t move at all? Oh yes, I did. No matter how hard you try to move, it feels like your soul has left your body and no matter how hard you try to touch something, you can’t.

http://reactiongifs.com/?p=20016

-All you have left is your will to survive, but now that’s starting to fade away as you begin to hallucinate. Oh no, we’re not talking about fairies, unicorns, or leprechauns saving the day, we’re talking shadows, ghosts, evil laughter, you name it. It’s like one of those dreams where you run, but you can’t get away from whoever is chasing you…

http://reactiongifs.com/?p=12558

-…because when you’re under sleep paralysis, the evil beings DO catch up to you. Sometimes, you’ll feel someone tickling or clawing you. Again, you can’t do anything but scream in your mind. It feels as though all your bad karma is sitting on your chest trying to kill you. You feel like you’re not breathing, but you really are, it just feels that way.

http://reactiongifs.com/?p=16536

-Solution? What I found works for me is as soon as I’m aware of what’s going on, I just try to relax as much as possible. You don’t know when it’s over until you fall asleep and wake up again, but it really doesn’t last as long you think it does. Like I said, it’s different for everyone. Sometimes you’ll hallucinate and see a shadow standing by your door creeping at you (scary stuff), sometimes you’ll feel violated by some dark being, or you’ll just stay still trying to touch things around you. It also helps if you’re stress-free before bedtime.

http://reactiongifs.com/?p=3421

❤ ❤ ❤ Love, Ellie ❤ ❤ ❤

23 thoughts on “Have you ever experienced Sleep Paralysis?

  1. Had that experience before, When I’d wake up but body is still very much asleep or even not really be able to open my eyes, but strangely enough only as a kid, it went away not long after, btw I loved that movie above 🙂 monster in paris! rite?

  2. This happened to me once a few months ago. I don’t remember falling asleep, I just remember the bed and my body feeling like it was spinning in violent circles. When it stopped I was terrified by the feeling in the room, like there was something sinister filling every inch of the space around me. I wanted to holler to my boyfriend to come into the bedroom to relax me, and eventually did. Though I was unaware that I had hallucinated that as well until he crouched down by the bed, put his hand on mine and I saw that he had demonic eyes. It was the most terrifying experience I’ve had with nighttime hallucinations, and I think it’s because the terror disguised itself as someone I trust.

    Eventually I was able to wiggle a toe and come out of it. I can’t imagine having these kinds of experiences regularly. It must be quite traumatic.

    • That’s exactly it! It’s horrible. I used to have them often while in college (I guess that’s why), but you do get used to them once you become aware of what is happening and why. This one time I felt someone tickling me on my back and talking to me morbidly. And yes, you do hallucinate about your loved ones. There were times when I heard my family’s voices.

  3. Oh my gosh, I’ve had this, I’ve also had it just on one arm or something. Its terrifying and for what feels like a lifetime I’m forced to think what life will be like with only 1 working arm.x

  4. It’s so dang scary. I have sleep paralysis fairly regularly. Maybe once per month. I don’t hallucinate where I see shadows, ghosts, or scary things… but I suddenly wake up, yet am still asleep and I can’t move. Paralyzed. I gasp for air, can’t get any air, only see darkness. I feel like I’m going to die, so I know I have to wake myself up. The only way I know how to do so is to fight with myself. Use every single ounce of strength in my body to kick and punch the air. Like I’m chained or tied down and I need to rip them off from the posts or something. It takes probably a minute, but once I’m awake, I can breath again (hyperventilating though). And move. It hurts and it’s scary. 😦

Leave a Reply

