Poem: One last year

31020_390218203479_958841_n

Recalled memories

and taught lessons

you knew my voice

that one last year.

~~~

Unexpected turns

survival of the souls

unprepared for loss

you stayed,

for one last year.

~~~

You remembered her

all your travels

all the emotions

all my stories

and you reminded me

that one last year.

~~~

And we told each other

peace and love

until one of us hung up

you showed strength

through your weakened body

that one last year.

~~~

Our last good-bye was routine

I told you we’d talk again

peace and love

until next time

that one last day.

~~~

I reached for the phone

you weren’t there

you’re in eternal peace

and eternal love

You showed me goodness

You may be gone

but you’re with your love,

and I’ll always remember

our one last year.

❤ ❤ ❤ Love, Ellie ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

