Your Legacy

I always say I’m not afraid of dying, but I hope I leave a positive legacy and a published book when I do. When I was younger, I didn’t think too much about this. I just knew I wanted to make a positive impact, but when you’re a teenager you think you’re immortal, and therefore go on to live as if you had a million lives. I’m turning 27 this year (geez, 3 more years and I’m going to be 30. What the heck?), but sometimes I feel like I’m in my early 20’s. I ask myself, have I made a positive impact enough to die without regrets? I hope so, but have I fulfill all my dreams? Not yet. I still have to publish a book and have a family. Will they ever happen? I don’t know, but I know one thing: if my time to pass on came tomorrow, I won’t have any regrets, because everyday I work hard to realize those dreams. Inspiration, published books, and a loving family. I want that to be my legacy.

I found this photo of my late grandparents on their wedding day. Before this day, my grandma spent 3 years in the hospital battling Tuberculosis; she lost part of one lung. During these years, my grandparents sent love letters to each other. They met when they were teenagers and grew old together. She lived 15 years longer than what the doctors had previously told her, and she gave birth to 3 children. Every time I look at their photos, I’m reminded of their legacy; Love, Trust, Faith, Courage, Perseverance. Against all odds, they grew old together. When I was a child, my grandpa was diagnosed with cancer and the doctors gave him 5 months to live. He beat it and lived until he was 85. They both suffered and survived together. Their legacies make me not want to complain about anything.

Image

What legacy do you wish to leave?

 

❤ ❤ ❤ Love, Ellie ❤ ❤ ❤

3 thoughts on “Your Legacy

Leave a Reply

