I walked home with a rabbit last night

Okay that sounds weird, but it’s sort of true. Half way home, I encountered a rabbit that was hopping on the grass. It hopped/walked with me for about a block, before it made its way to a nearby backyard. I didn’t want to take a picture, because I didn’t want to scare it, but it was a fun encounter. It looked average size, which I’m a bit surprised considering the trash in Ontario seems to be good enough to make the wild life grow twice their size. Then again, it probably means not a lot of food is being wasted. I have yet to see a raccoon, and when I do, I hope it’s not a rabid one. 

I’d like to know why animals like to follow me. Perhaps it’s because I have the same schedule as a wild animal? Or am I turning into Snow White? I’m going to guess the former, because my singing sounds like demons pitchforking a thousand lost souls at once. Every time I see an animal outside, I want to adopt it, but I resist the urge due to the fact it’d be unfair to steal their freedom. If you see a rabbit, raccoon, fox, don’t be afraid (unless they’re charging towards you) and admire the beauty nature has to offer. Whenever I see raccoons outside at night, they don’t really care about what I’m doing, which means they want to get to their home safely just like you do. 

Just something to think about for today. Tomorrow is Mother’s Day, so we must take this moment to appreciate everything around us, because if it weren’t for our mums (and dads) we wouldn’t be here at all. I’m adding-on a bottle of Advil for my mum for all the headaches I have given her (well, I wasn’t bad, but you know, I still gave her headaches at times). 

PS: I love to look at this photo. It takes me on an imaginary parallel universe 🙂

Image

❤ ❤ ❤ Love, Ellie ❤ ❤ ❤

4 thoughts on “I walked home with a rabbit last night

  1. Lol–I’m sure your singing isn’t that bad. 🙂 Thanks for sharing this adorable story! I wish bunnies would follow me home, but I haven’t seen any yet this year (New Jersey)–that is–except the one that lives inside a cage in my living room. Hope the crazy winter wasn’t too tough on them!

Leave a Reply

