What is your heritage?

Today, I met a group of Dutch seniors (yeah I totally live life on the edge) who taught me how to say ‘hello,’ ‘how are you,’ and ‘thank you’. They were super friendly and made me want to learn Dutch. Will I ever? Probably not. I’m still on Intermediate French, so by the time I’m fluent and take on Dutch, I’ll probably be a goner. I do like to learn basic greetings in different languages, it helps me appreciate different cultures this way. What is YOUR heritage? Do you speak 1 or 10 languages?

I’m Hispanic, Spanish and French. I speak English, Spanish, basic French, a little bit of Italian and Portuguese (because they’re similar to Spanish). My grandpa’s step dad was Chinese, so I grew up eating Chinese food, but I only know how to say ‘hello,’ ‘thank you’, and ‘goodbye’.

http://reactiongifs.com/?p=1835

❤ ❤ ❤ Love, Ellie ❤ ❤ ❤

9 thoughts on “What is your heritage?

  1. Wow, it sounds to me like you are a true Canadian in the sense that you have a mish mash of everything in your ethnic background 🙂 same with me. I am Polish, Ukrainian, British, American…my husband is Native Canadian (Mohawk), French, Scottish, and Irish…that makes my daughter Polish, Ukrainian, British, American, Mohawk, French, Scottish and Irish…holy crapola!

  2. What is the difference between Hispanic and Spanish?

    I speak English, learned German for 8 years but can just say the basics, learned Italian but forgot it :/ (I think I will refresh my memory), know a bit of Spanish from the soap operas 😀 and of course Croatian, Bosnian, Serbian, Montenegrian because they are with few differences.

  3. I speak English. I learnt a little Italian at primary school and I can speak some Japanese from my days studying it at high school.
    watashi wa hon o yomu ga dai suki desu. That means I love reading books!
    By the way, guess what? I just ordered the extended version of the Lord of the Rings! Can’t wait to go in and pick it up!

Leave a Reply

