Writing challenge: Flash Fiction

I’ve decided to join the weekly writing challenges and here’s my take on the 300-word or less flash fiction.

 

One of them

I had ten minutes left on my break, and I decided to walk back to work. I rushed through the small crowd, in order to avoid seeing him when I passed through the main doors to my work. “Why did he come back into my life when we stopped being friends years ago?” That question unravelled in my mind the entire way. I tried to avoid making eye contact as I approached my workplace, but my anxiety grew stronger when I realized he stared as I arrived. “Wait,” he shouted. My resentful expression greeted him, but I spoke no words. I turned and tried to go inside, but time suddenly came to a stop for everyone, except for him, his friends and I.  

“What did you do?” I yelled.

“I didn’t. You did,” he smiled.

I paused in shock for a few moments, looking at the immobile crowd. I came to realize that I wasn’t who I thought I was, and that he came back to help me see that I was one of them.

 

3 thoughts on “Writing challenge: Flash Fiction

  1. Pingback: Obsolete/Saying Goodbye | Mayur Wadhwani's Blog

  2. Pingback: on your marks | litadoolan

  3. Pingback: A key, a whistle and a Post-it. | chey being

Leave a Reply

