Regret – A to Z challenge

A to Z Challenge letter: R

Image

Regret

Live without regrets, that sounds simple, right? Well, it isn’t and it will never be. I do not regret events in my life as much anymore, because there is no point on dwelling in the past. However, there is one thing I would’ve loved to do more – talk to my grandma more. Whenever I mention this, my family and friends think I’m being too hard on myself. I talked to my grandma, a lot, but I feel I should’ve asked her more questions and found out more about her history. Of course, after she passed away I clung onto my grandpa and drained all the stories I could out of him. He was happy sharing how he met my grandma and what they did together. They met when they were teenagers and stayed together until she passed away at age 79, in 2007. It’s amazing how much detail my grandpa remembered, but it goes to show you that love does amazing things. Because I did live in regret after her passing, I tried to make up for what I could not do with her, by reaching to my grandpa. I do wish I could’ve heard his stories through her voice, though. I understand now that even though I wish I could’ve done more, she did leave a great legacy and I got to listen to it through my grandpa’s voice. Their love helped me believe in love again.

If you live in regret, try not to, it does hurt your mind and soul. Instead, learn from past mistakes and focus on the positive that came out of them. After my grandpa passed away last year, I did not regret anything. I spoke to him as often as I could during his last year, and hearing me gave him peace and he let me know that. I have to tell you, there were times when I asked my mum a hundred times if he really was sick, because whenever he talked to me he would sound like he did in his younger years. She told me he was excited to hear and see me and my voice made his pain disappear.

Our last goodbye:

Me: Love you, gramps!

Grandpa: Love you, too! Peace and Love!

❤ ❤ ❤ Love, Ellie ❤ ❤ ❤

7 thoughts on “Regret – A to Z challenge

  1. I share how you feel as well, My grandmother passed away back in 2002 and I regretted that I never really got to know her as well. She tried so hard to communicate with me when I was a kid in Chile, but at the time I didn’t know how to speak her native language of “Hokkien” but knew she cared for me and my sister greatly travelling across the world to a foreign country so she could look after us while my mom flew to the U.S to give birth to my youngest sister. Treasure the memories and remember everything she shared with you, that’s how you will always have her in your heart 🙂

  2. There is a lesson to be learnt with regret and that is by understanding what we regret we will not make the same choices that led to it again. You can’t change what has happened but you can always change what will happen in the future.

  3. Pingback: A to Z challenge reflections | This is who I am...

Leave a Reply

