“Are your characters physically based on people you know?”

My novel has a lot of characters, but not all of them have been physically defined, yet. Right now I’m focusing on writing the entire story, I don’t pay attention to the grammar —but it does drive me crazy sometimes, it needs a lot of proofreading — and it took me a long time to decided not to, because I used to be afraid of the story not being good enough. If I think this way, I will never achieve anything. My novel will not be good for everyone, never. Take Lord of the Rings for example, eloquent plot, new language, yet there are a lot of people out there who loathe it! I didn’t know it was possible to loathe this masterpiece, but it is. My main goal is so inspire others and as long as I inspire at least ONE person, my goal has been accomplished. Which is why I haven’t focused too much on the appearances of my secondary characters. They are all loosely based on people I have met; the men are based on the types I like. The fact I don’t exactly have a ‘type’ of man in real life creates a diversity amongst my characters. If my novel ever gets published, you’ll notice that I focus more on their inner emotions rather than physically appearances (although, there are instances where I have to), and that is based on who I am in reality. I’ve lived in South America, U.S.A, Vancouver and now Ontario, so I’ve seen a lot. Hopefully, I’ll be able to visit Europe, New Zealand, and Australia in the near future to get more inspiration 🙂

Here’s a tip: Ask your friends for feedback, but do not change your whole story based on this. Use it to make a few changes, but do not get discouraged. Everyone has a different taste in books; some may not like yours, but others will. Follow your instincts and remember, you’re first writing for yourself, and then to inspire others.

If you’re thinking of writing a novel, poem, anything, DO IT! Life’s short and if you put it on hold, you never know what could happen in the future that might prevent you from writing.

 

http://reactiongifs.com/?p=4118

❤ ❤ ❤ Love, Ellie ❤ ❤ ❤

4 thoughts on ““Are your characters physically based on people you know?”

  1. I think it’s so awesome that you have a passion in writing and you’re really good at it. I always second guess what I write(even though I am in no way a writer) but as time has passed I started to just write more in a way I speak and it has been working for me. Hope to see your novel in the shelves one day! Good luck.

Leave a Reply

