Luxury – A to Z challenge

A to Z challenge letter: L

Image

Luxury

Luxury to me is not about materialism, but about the jewels of the heart. Even though, I have experienced many heartbreaks. I still hold on to my good memories and I am happy to say I do live a luxurious life. thanks to my upbringing. I did not find out what I’m about to share with you, until I was older. My grandpa was diagnosed with cancer when I was little and the doctors only gave him a 2% (if I remember the number correctly) chance of survival. Back then, my family owned a few properties, meaning we were financial stable. not rich I may add. My mum and grandma had a choice to make, which took them less than a second to agree on a decision; they were going to sell it all and fight the cancer battle alongside my grandpa. Sure enough, he made a miraculous recovery and went on to live a fruitful life. Had they chose not to selfless give up their material possessions, I would not have had the chance to get to know the wonderful man my grandpa was. He was a father figure to me and for that I am extremely grateful. I often wonder how I would’ve turned out had he not lived so long. Would I have been spoiled? Well, not that I wasn’t, after all grandparents will always be grandparents, it is their duty to spoil their grandchildren :p. But, would my soul be capable of being so thankful today? I don’t know how the death of my grandpa would’ve affected us then. My mum had a very Faithful upbringing, so I don’t think I would’ve turned out bad, but I do wonder sometimes. Their love for my grandpa and the selfness to come to his aid when they needed him most, are the acts of love in my life that have left a luxurious impact in my heart. They loved him, they saved him, they saved me. Sadly, my grandpa passed away last year, on May 27th, after losing a battle with cancer. He was 85. But he fulfilled his destiny and left an amazing legacy for me to continue.

Luxury isn’t always material possessions, but memories preserved as jewels in your heart.

<3<3<3 Love, Ellie <3<3<3

3 thoughts on “Luxury – A to Z challenge

  1. That’s a beautiful story, Ellie. You are truly blessed. Don’t miss the luxury of getting as many of your grandpa’s stories committed to paper either by your recording or by encouraging him to write them down. You will cherish them even after the good Lord takes him home. Enjoy. Maria from “http://delightdirectedliving.blogspot.com/”

    • Thank you! Sadly, my grandpa passed away last year. Although, he tried to write stories down, he was only able to talk to me about them. He did keep the love letters he exchanged with my grandma, though :).

  2. Pingback: A to Z challenge reflections | This is who I am...

Leave a Reply

