Daily Prompt: Fight the Power

The Daily Prompt for today: Tell us about a time when you fought authority and took a stand against “the man.” Did you win?

 

I was in elementary school, I think Grade 3 or 4. We had a new P.E. teacher and I remember feeling uneasy when I was near her, but I didn’t say anything about it. As a P.E. she was supposed to coach us, and teach us about healthy habits, I get that, but this “teacher” pushed things to the extreme. She was hard on us and we were less than 10 years old! I don’t remember (thankfully) too much of what we endured, but I do recall trying to reach the level she expected us to, in fear of being sanctioned. We didn’t really say much to our parents, just that the class was “tiring and tough,” because we ended up believing the regiment was appropriate.  I remember one day, we arrived and she told us our nails were a bit longer than they should be and she made us cut them with SCISSORS.  So, when I got home I told my mum what had happened and she was appalled. In fact, she and other mums were starting to get concerned even before that incident. Everyone got together and got her fired. I haven’t asked my mum what happened afterwards, but after that incident, we didn’t see her ever again.

Please remember not to ever push yourself to the point where you degrade yourself, and do not let anyone do this to you. Challenges are meant to help you, encourage you, unveil positive horizons in your life, not make you believe something you do not deserve.

 

 

❤ ❤ ❤ Love, Ellie ❤ ❤ ❤

 

Leave a Reply

