Never in my life did I imagine this would be possible

That’s what I’m going to say when I meet Robert Downey Jr, but I’m not writing this post to talk about him. I hope he acknowledges me one day :p

Something great happened today, and I am not sure if this means I’m officially grown up or I appreciate some animals more than I used to. I semi-awoke early this morning to a weird noise by my ear. I did not think much of it, I thought it was a fly that got in my room. I went back to sleep and woke up and heard the same sound again. I was still in bed and turned to face the wall, and I saw a giant, well a big beetle crawling up to the window. I didn’t know it was a beetle at first, I just stared and went, “the heck is that thing?”

Do you want to guess what I did next? No, I didn’t kill it, ran, dance, cry or marry it. In fact, I wasn’t scared at all –okay, maybe I little bit — but I decided to lure it into a bag and throw it out in the grass. I used logic, the beetle or whatever creature it was didn’t bite me, therefore it was not dangerous, so I chose to let it live. If it was a spider, I would’ve killed it or used the vacuum. It was definitely not a ‘cute’ bug, but it is the first time I’ve let a bug live, so props to me for doing that :p. Oh, but it’s not over. Get ready for a plot twist! I came back from the front yard and while I was getting ready to go out, I noticed something crawling up another wall. It was back!!!!!!! I don’t know how the thing escaped, nor do I want to know just so I won’t have nightmares tonight, but it was back, like the Terminator. I was about to scoop it out with a dust pan, but it moved and I got scared, so I threw it against the door. I saw it land on it.

I knew where it was, so I went to the door to get it and, dun dun dun, it wasn’t there! It disappeared, and I am not joking. I had to be somewhere so I decided to let it go and deal with it when I came back. I didn’t see it again. Perhaps, it came back to thank me? I’d like to think so, just for the sake of not losing my mind. What if I imagined the whole thing? I was half awake after all. What if there were TWO? I’m confused. These bugs BUG me all the time, ha ha, see what I did there? No? No? Okay…

Arwen I thought (haha another Lord of the Rings pun, get it?) I was never going to get over my fear of bugs, I guess I finally did? About scooping out spiders, I don’t know if that will happen in the near future, but maybe there is hope :p. Bugs and Arachnids rejoice! Well, not arachnids just yet.

What is the moral of all this? It is possible to overcome fears, it feels weird growing up, and be kind to bugs, they may just thank you for it :p.

 

❤ ❤ ❤ Love, Ellie ❤ ❤ ❤

 

5 thoughts on “Never in my life did I imagine this would be possible

  1. Facing bugs and other critters with calmness is definitely a sign of growing up! Good for you! Every once in a while I face critters like a grown up as well… but certain things (such as cockroaches) still freak me out always!

  2. Pingback: Overcoming my fear of bugs…as told by gifs | This is who I am...

Leave a Reply

