Growing – A to Z Challenge

A to Z Challenge letter: G

Image

Growing

My two posts today have been about Growing up. I like to believe you can grow in at least 3 ways; height, age, maturity. It doesn’t mean we all do our growing at the same time or we all get to achieve it. I don’t know when I stopped growing in height, I still want to believe I’m getting a bit taller every year :p. For the curious cats out there, last time I checked I was 5’3” (or 5’2”). I don’t really care about height, unless I’m trying to reach for something that is high; I don’t like to grab ladders, it’s too much work sometimes (talk about laziness). In reality,science says I won’t get any taller, but my hip bones might get wider, and if you want my honest opinion, I do not give a flying… yeah that word I never say (I don’t swear).

Having said that, it brings me to the topic of ageing, and that my friends is something we will do until we die, so we better try to get used to it. I’m not afraid to admit that I do feel a bit old sometimes, and I get scared of ageing, not because of wrinkles or who knows what I’ll get, but because I want to achieve every goal I have. I’m doing my best to meet my goals and I have achieved some dreams, but I want to be able to do them all. Apparently, I do not look 26. I still get carded (which is an ego boost I suppose) and people think I look 20. Perhaps, I will appreciate this fact more when I’m in my 40’s and people tell me I look 30. I’m sure my wallet will appreciate me not spending money on anti-ageing products. I may have stopped growing in height, but I will always grow in age, and that brings me to the topic of maturity.

Maturity isn’t easily achieved, and just because you get older does not mean you suddenly become mature. I’m going to speak for myself on this one, because I know everyone is different. I think one does not realize when we achieve maturity, because we never really do. That’s the beauty of it. Everyday we grow in a different way, and get thrown life lessons at us from every direction, thus changing our perspectives, and hopefully for a better us. Today, I overcame my fear of bugs, I still fear arachnids, but I overcame something today. I grew today. I learned to appreciate a bug’s life (so cute like the movie :p). I have definitely become more responsible and learned not to dwell in my own sorrows, because there is always something better out there. I do believe things happen for a reason, and as impatient as I may be, now I choose to wait, as opposed to digging myself in a hole of anxiety (oh the teenage early adult years). Maturity isn’t about a sudden change of who you are, it is about accepting that you deserve a good life and embarking on the path that you deserve.

❤ ❤ ❤ Love, Ellie ❤ ❤ ❤

6 thoughts on “Growing – A to Z Challenge

  1. You’re spot on about age vs maturity. When I look in the mirror I always get a bit of a shock to see my face. Inside I don’t feel like an ‘adult’ or ‘mature’ but at 44 I can’t deny that I am no longer a youth. It is a strange feeling to still feel as young and flighty as I was in my 20s and then to see a much older person in the mirror. I’m lucky that my mothers family has great genes and we age quite slowly as I know of others my age who look much older than I but still I don’t look like ME anymore. Oh well time passes and all that stuff!!

  2. Pingback: A to Z challenge reflections | This is who I am...

Leave a Reply

