Daily Prompt: Wasted Days and Wasted Nights

The Daily Prompt asks: Tell us your tried and true techniques for focusing when that deadline looms and you need to get work done. In other words, how do you avoid wasted days and wasted nights?

First of all, I don’t drink alcohol, which is the enemy of any deadlines you need to meet. When I was younger, I would often wait until the last minute, and rushed into finishing work I should’ve started weeks or even months ago. I have learned my lesson. I have a different outlook in life now. Back in day it was an immature perspective, and I would try to excuse my failures on the usual “why am I doing this if I won’t use it in the future.” Today, I ask myself, “How can this help me?” And I do it. Depending on how long I have to finish work, I take a bit of time each day, and a lot of time during my days off to accomplish what I set out to do. You can bet Enya will be involved in the process, her music helps me concentrate. I think they key is to understand and remind yourself how can the work you’re doing help you grow as a person and in school/work, instead of complaining and deciding not to finish. There’s always something to learn and we must turn a negative into a positive. 

 

❤ ❤ ❤ Love, Ellie ❤ ❤ ❤

12 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Wasted Days and Wasted Nights

  1. Pingback: When writing on a deadline | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  2. Pingback: I’m A Life Coach? The Lazy Way | Edward Hotspur

  3. Pingback: On Procrastination and a Regular Audience | Thinking Diagonally

  4. I wish I didn’t drink alcohol! Good for you. I tend to do so once during the weekend… But a great perspective on things. I have to agree with the mentality of how you didn’t think it would help later (in the past) vs how it will help in the future … I’m the same way.

  5. Pingback: Wasted Days and Wasted Nights | Alexia Jones

  6. Pingback: Phoenix Nights | Views Splash!

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Wasted Days and Wasted Nights | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  8. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “Wasted Days” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

