I have a thousand aunts

editpics (26)

A thousand is an exaggeration, but it feels that way, and it is an amazing thing. You see, these “thousand” aunts of whom I speak are not my biological aunts, but they are the fruit of an everlasting friendship that was formed during my mum’s school years. I’m not going to mention names nor ages, because what’s important is what their sentiments have shown me.

A lot of times we take our friendships for granted, and sometimes there are poisonous friendships worth abandoning. But what they have taught me is that a solid friendship is not impossible. I have many solid friendships myself, and you have no idea how tight I hold on to them; not because I have to or I’m afraid of being alone, but because of their tremendous value they have brought in my life’ just like my aunts. “Oh,  you’re exaggerating. I’m sure they’ve made you uncomfortable at some point.” In all honesty, absolutely not. They’ve always shown me their effectiveness of ushering my life with joy. It has been countless times that my thousand aunts have been there for me and my family ; they are my family. They saw me in mum’s belly, they saw me as a baby, and they saw me growing up. I visited them and their children many times; some were older than me and some were babies and I called them ‘cousins’. I remember one of them at my 6th birthday party, he was (I think) less than a year old; he’s now in his early 20’s! In addition, I recall a visit to another aunt when I was little, and her daughters introduced  me to the Curious George series (the old school ones). My aunts opened the doors for me to explore other worlds and languages (some of their children spoke German), and always reminding me of living life in quality and not quantity.

They have always had a positive impact in my life, and responded within seconds to any struggles I, my family, or other aunts have faced. They were there when my grandma passed away, and were there last year when my grandpa passed away. They’re like the A-Team, except with Aunts, or Guardian Angels if you want a different name choice. There was even a point when one of my aunts became my substitute Math teacher. Of course, I did get in trouble with her for talking too much (at this point, my mum was used to getting these type of phone calls), but she was gracious and during that time, I enjoyed Math –after she stopped teaching me, I disliked it again (typical).

What inspired me to write this post  is the current undeserving mishaps life has brought them lately. Without going into much detail due to privacy, I can say that it is related to grief and health issues. This is one of the ways I want to honour them. However, despite everything that is happening to them, they never break, but they show courage, kindness, and Faith. What a wonderful thing is to have people surrounding you, who are selfless, and act from their hearts to ensure YOU are well. They probably do not realize the impact they’ve had in my life (and others), but I can attest to the positive imprint that they have marked (and continue to do so) in this world, and I will pass on their legacy to my future generations.

I have a thousand beloved aunts, not in the literal form, but it sure feels like it, and that’s a good thing. I feel like I have a thousand aunts, because they’re walking angels who show that friendship is everlasting. They remind me of the goodness in the world and that love and true friendships still exist. Hold on tight to those you love and the ones who love you back, because eventually, their lives and our lives will let go of each other.

PS: This is my 100th post!

 

❤ ❤ ❤ Love, Ellie ❤ ❤ ❤

4 thoughts on “I have a thousand aunts

  1. Pingback: I’m celebrating 100 posts! | This is who I am...

Leave a Reply

