How did this penguin obsession start?

By now, every single person who knows me gets me penguin-related merchandise (and I love them for it!). It is a well-known fact of Ellie that she LOVES penguins, she adores them, she’s obsessed. But, why? And how did it all begin?

Random person reading this post: “Because they’re so cute!!!!!!!!!! I could squeeze them (in a good non-harmful way)!!”

Of course! That’s one of the reasons I love them so much, but it’s not the only one. You see, I didn’t always love penguins.

I had a very awesome good-hearted dog when I was little, who was tragically struck by a car. It wasn’t the drivers fault. My dog just ran out of the house (I did the same when I was 2 years old, so it wasn’t a surprise that my dog and I were BFFs) and into the highway. Why? I don’t know, but I lost my companion that day and I was heartbroken — it also didn’t help that I saw him covered in a bag on the street. Even though I missed him afterwards, I still loved dogs, and my family got a new one after we got over the trauma. Thing is, this new dog was VERY hyper and wouldn’t leave my sis alone, so they picked another home for him. After that, I longed to share a bond with an animal (and humans too, but you know, this is an animal-themed post, just for the record). I loved them. I even asked my cousin to borrow her dog for a day – pfft, I was desperate. I would dance with my other cousin’s dog at their annual New Year’s Eve party – I literally held his paws and we danced as partners, no joke, and he liked it. Eventually, it started to wear off.

I moved on to other animals. I collected roly-polies, ants and sometimes ladybugs. In addition, I befriended the fish my classmates and I used for the science fair, but sadly they moved on to fish heaven, thanks to a teacher who overfed them during our absence (not on purpose I should add). After that, all I could do was hang out with the dissected animals in the science lab, which gave me the creeps, but I was mesmerized by the variety of species that stood around me; they weren’t live animals, but they were animals nonetheless. I wasn’t crying in despair from the fact I couldn’t have pets, I just loved animals, simple as that.

Throughout most of my high school years, however, my focus on animals was only kept during science class, or whenever my friends and I sung the theme song of Hamtaro (this was way before I got my late hamster, Viggy Sidney). It was during Senior year where my obsession with animals ignited again (I liked dolphins during this time), when I thought of becoming a marine biologist. I honestly don’t know where that came from. Perhaps it was the fact I liked dolphins then, or that my parents were biologist and I wanted follow into their footsteps. As expected, I destroyed the heck out of that idea, when I realized I only wanted to do it, so I could hold marine creatures (including penguins). Despite my eagerness to hold a penguin, I wasn’t obsessed, yet. In fact, I moved on to, aliens.

Did you stop laughing? No?

How about now?  No?

Now? Yes? Ok, moving on.

I was obsessed with aliens. I watched alien movies, and my dad even got me an alien book and DVD. I wanted to make contact with aliens so bad. I bought an astronomy book and UFO books to see if I could decode any attempts from aliens trying to communicate with us. At one point I wondered whether or not I was human and hoped the aliens had sent me from their kingdom to investigate human behaviour. I was hoping for an alien invasion, because I would’ve been the first to volunteer to be taken. I even wanted an Alienware computer, because it had an alien on it. My messenger display picture was of an alien, my aim messenger had alien messages. However, as fast as that obsession came, it went away throughout a week period, sneakily transforming into a liking of hamsters. Sadly, this was triggered by the sudden passing of my grandma. I got my hamster Viggy Sidney a few months after she passed away, to keep me company. And he did, he was the best hamster I’ve ever had (because he was he only hamster I ever had). It was also during this time when my penguin obsession was made present, having seen the second Madagascar animated film.

At first I thought they were cute, and was playing with the idea of making them my permanent fixation. I bought penguin stickers and changed my display pictures to penguins. It wasn’t until I read more about them and re-watched the Madagascar movies a few more times that I fell in love with them. These awesome creatures live to the fullest and make the most of out the fact they can’t fly. They waddle and enthral us with their clumsiness, and do not get embarrassed. They experts say they “steal” stones from their neighbours to impress future companions, but since when is it illegal to take your neighbours’ rocks? They’re mischievous and mysterious. You have to give them credit for facing danger everyday, they’re like the James Bond of Antarctica; their natural gear protects them from the insane cold (which we could use here in Ontario), and their grooming skills makes them look dashing. How romantic are they that they propose using a pebble? Sign me up for that love story! They remind me of how to be simple, and how to not give a care of what anyone else thinks. They’re risk takers and are smart. They’re adorable, but can be intimidating when they want to. They’re themselves and not afraid to show off their awesomeness. They were given a simple body, but were Blessed with the eagerness to fulfil their lives with adventures, love, and clumsiness.

One of my goals is to hold a penguin for at least a minute. I’ve only seen them, but have never held one. Here are a few pictures of penguins. First one is my latest addition to my penguin collection :D. It was given to me by one of my best friends. I named him, Leo. The other two were taken in Vancouver.

DSC07387 DSC04504 DSC04501

 

❤ ❤ ❤ Love, Ellie ❤ ❤ ❤

 

18 thoughts on “How did this penguin obsession start?

  1. You’re a natural animal lover Ellie! How that went into Aliens (chuckle) that’s completely alright! (lol) but I think penguins are cute too and the ultimate parents with the way they care for their young while their mate goes look for food 🙂 🙂

  2. Pingback: Random Photo of the day #10…with a Story Starter! | This is who I am...

Leave a Reply

