Daily Prompt: Singing the Blues

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/28/prompt-singing-the-blues/

Overall, I’m a happy person, even when I don’t want to admit it. It is not always easy for me to find a solution when I start singing the blues. But, first of all, I can’t sing, so I know it’s all metaphorical, but that’s already set me up for failure :p. It depends a lot on why such sadness was sung. If it’s because of my “day of the month,” and want to defeat the cramp demon, I just take a pain reliever and watch movies all day, and if I have to work, then I just go to work and suck it up.

That seems fairly simple, right? But, how about when sudden sadness kicks it? Yes, I do visit Robery Downey Jr.’s facebook page and drool at all his greatness, while I rock back and forth drinking tea, shedding tears of joy and pain all at the same time. That’s when my body decides to join in my frustration, and releases a war of a thousand cravings simultaneously stabbing me until I take charge. I binge on ice cream and potato chips, and if I didn’t hate myself enough at that moment, sometimes I go and buy a burger. You’d think that would help. Wrong. The next day I feel guilty for eating all the junk and become sad that I now have to workout a bit more than usual. But, then again, working out helps, right? Yes, unless your muscles are sore, because the food guilty made you try an intense class you haven’t done in a while. You get the idea, it’s a whole fire that you can never put out.

My solution now, is just to keep it simple and live with no regrets, as a method of avoiding singing the blues. If I feel like eating popcorn, I go and make popcorn and not worry whether it’s too early or too late to eat it. Basically, live your life in moderation and without hurting yourself and others. If you feel like going for a walk, then go for a walk. So what if it’s rainning? If it’s warm enough, get an umbrella and a jacket and go out. If you don’t have the right gear, go out anyway, let the rain fall on you and run back home and take a shower. I’ve lived in Vancouver, I know all about rain.

It’s about remembering how to enjoy life again. I listen to Enya when I write and when I feel down. I watch Lord of the Rings for inspiration. I read when I want to vent anger, because a lot of times you’ll look at other characters’ lives who have it a lot worse than you. Even if I don’t want to read, I grab the book and place it on my face. Be clumsy, be silly, be content. If it means hugging your stuffed animals, then go for it. I pray when I feel cheerful and hopeless, and if you don’t, that’s totally fine, but it works for me. Hey, even my Faith struggles at times and I don’t feel like acknowledging the guy up there. But, this is me. I can’t tell you how to live your life or give you a manual on how to overcome your own sadness.

My advice is do not prepare to be sad or for when you’ll become sad. Live your life right now, the way it feels right for you; laugh with friends, love everyone, go for the hike you’ve always wanted to do, eat that chocolate cake without feeling guilty (you know you want to). Live to the fullest so that you can remind yourself of the beauty in your life, when you feel sad. Everyday, life will bring different challenges and worries, and nothing will ever prepare you for them. I do so many things to cheer myself up, I have lost count. You grow everyday and you’ll deal with struggles in a different way. But, you have people who love you and it is important that you see this.

Bonus: I like to draw hearts a lot <3, and that cheers me up. Every status on my FB starts and ends with 3 hearts.

 

❤ ❤ ❤ Love, Ellie ❤ ❤ ❤

 

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Singing the Blues

  1. Cheers to living life and being happy! especially for popcorn lol! Vancouver and rain definitely go hand in hand, We’ve only had what. Two weeks of sun since you flew back to Ontario and it feels like winter all over again. Bah! Enya’s music definitely fits in perfectly with the never ending rain :S

  2. Pingback: Singing the Blues | Alexia Jones

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Singing the Blues | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  4. Pingback: 10 Tips for Beating the Blues (+ an Amusing Picture) | lynnesartandsoul

  5. Pingback: NEVER ALONE | Hastywords

Leave a Reply

