Poem: Emotional Distress

On the edge of a precipice

I hold on to the most precious

struggling to bind the pieces

it is exhausting

it is emotionally tiring.

For how long can I hold on

will I ever regain hope?

~

I cling onto the edge 

watching the rocks of my emotional state 

fall down the cliff

splashing in the water

failing miserably to lift me up

~

As the rocks fall, my pockets fill with distress

it’s time to let go they say

I can’t

I still am hopeful 

but don’t be, maybe it won’t get better

I’m not strong

I’m meant to fail.

~

Awake I face reality

Asleep I chase my dreams

But you can make a switch

there is hope

no there is not

I can’t put together my broken pieces anymore.

~

it’s a sonet of painful tones

an emotional mountain of despair

on my shoulders

and for what?

for hope, you say

my flask has almost none.

~

It’s not over

the amount is not significant

it can flourish and you can regain yourself

try, for yourself. 

~

Confront your reality

battle the sorrows

chase your dreams

win back your life

amend your heart

believe again.

7 thoughts on “Poem: Emotional Distress

Leave a Reply

