Daily Prompt: The Great Pretender

You can read the daily prompt, right HERE.

They ask: Are you full of confidence or have you ever suffered from Imposter Syndrome? Tell us all about it. (https://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/27/prompt-the-great-pretender/)

I confess! I am confident most of the time, like today for example. I’m confident I’ll be tired, because my brain woke me up earlier than usual and did not let me go back to sleep. Consequently, I am confident I’ll be upset at my brain for the rest of the day – perhaps, forever. When I look into the mirror, I am confident, I look good, but not in a conceited way. But, then I look again and change my mind – the outfit wasn’t my best choice, my face looks different – what if I get wrinkles this year? I’m only 26. Thereupon, I get over it, I snap out of it. I remind myself that many people have no clothes to wear, so many people have illnesses, and here I am giving myself unnecessary heartache due to my sudden lack of confidence. I just can’t go there. I refuse to.

I am confident I will pick the right tea for tonight. I am not confident I’ll feel like eating chicken tomorrow. I am confident I won’t waste food and only buy what I need. I am grateful I can choose what I’m going to eat, and can satisfy my cravings. I am confident one day, if I’m to regain some sort of power, I will make sure those who can’t, can eat what they couldn’t.

I have my dream job, I am happy, I know I can do better each day, and I am confident I will succeed. Yes, of course sometimes when I fail, I tell myself I have failed in life; that I should bury myself under my bed sheets, and rock back and forth until an angel comes to my rescue. And then the angel will become flesh and we’ll marry and live in eternal happiness. I’m confident that won’t happen in its entirety (you know which part that is).

But, I am confident I will regain my confidence when I lack of it. Nobody is a failure, and nobody should think that of themselves. It doesn’t mean I won’t at some point, but we are all dealt different cards in life and therefore, have different strategies that we use to face our reality.

I am confident this prompt question SHOULD be asked to ourselves when we feel we have failed. I am thankful they asked it. I’m confident they have initiated a change towards goodness amongst other writers. I am confident they have inspired.

Listen to yourself, and not others. As long as you’re not hurting others or yourself, you’re free to fly into the world as you please, and with confidence.

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: The Great Pretender

  1. Oh I always like reading your posts – they offer such variety but under it all is this quirky clever lady who is coming to know just what she is capable of – and that is more than she ever imagined. I have confidence in your confidence and clear sighted view of life. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

