Through the eyes of my childhood series: Chapter One – Hiding

We all have one thing in common; we were all children. It amazes me at the things I used to do when I was little, and how many of those things have followed me into adulthood. I’ve decided to start these new series called, “Through the eyes of my childhood.” I want to share with you the things I did when I was little, either from memory or the stories my parents have told me. I guess I’m also hoping you experienced the same, so I won’t seem like a lunatic.

First of all, one thing you need to know about me: I don’t drink coffee, because it’s as if I had natural caffeine running through veins on a daily basis. I’m like a possessed squirrel that was possessed by the Tasmanian devil that was possessed by the Road Runner. What I’m trying to say here is that I’m a hyper/happy person. Based on the stories I’ve been told, I used to be the same when I was little. I don’t know if I was a hyper/happy fetus, but it’s best if I don’t ask right now.

One of my favourite things to play was hide-and-go-seek. That game was the easiest for me to play; you just needed to know how to hide and how to find someone. It’s sad that nowadays, the only time I’d play this game would be if I were being chased by a creep, dinosaur, or a zombie. There were moments when I played by myself or with my sister (she’ll tell you I mostly teased her, but don’t listen to her), or I simply hid in order to escape into my own daydreaming world.

My favourite hiding place was my closet. I shared a room with my sister and the closet was big enough for us to fit inside. I sat inside to play with my stuffed animals and dolls. I was afraid of the dark, so I never closed the door, unless I wanted to tease my family. There was an instance when my mom was in the kitchen and I decided to hide in the closet (without telling her I was going to hide) until she figured I was gone and went all over the house to find me. In my mind, it was just a game, but in her mind it was a heartache. In my mind I probably went, “How was I supposed to know she thought I was lost? After all, I knew where I was.” But, she probably knew where I was and just played along. I mean, when I was 2 years old, I unlocked the front door and ran, so she was used to me playing tricks on her all the time (that’s another story I’m gonna tell later).

Nowadays, I have a thing for closets, because they are a great place to hide from reality (or a robber). I have a wooden shelf where I sit and play on the ipod, read, or imagine stories. I’m still waiting to go to Narnia, so perhaps it is my way to prepare for when it happens…I mean, IF it happens. Hey, I can dream 😉

Now I ask YOU, what was YOUR favourite place to hide?

 

 

Of course! The world doesn’t rule me today!

3 thoughts on “Through the eyes of my childhood series: Chapter One – Hiding

  1. Pingback: Random Photo of the Day #5…with a Story Starter! | My name is Ellie and this is who I am.

  2. Pingback: Through the eyes of my childhood: Chapter Two – La Hyper girl | This is who I am...

  3. Pingback: Through the eyes of my childhood: Chapter Two: La Hyper Girl | This is who I am...

Leave a Reply

