My brain, the Breadcruster.

Okay, I’ll give my brain credit where its due, but when it comes to cravings, this one is one huge Breadcruster. I call it ‘Breadcruster’, because I’m one of those people who don’t like bread crusts – I know, you’re a bread crust and you find this offensive- and it sounds cuter than ‘Douchebag’. Hey! My brain can be quite the antagonist, but I have to admit, I feel guilty insulting it – shh, don’t tell it!

I slept in today (I guess you can’t call it that, because I haven’t gone back to work, yet, and therefore, did not set an alarm) and peeked at the weather app. The snow stopped, but it was very cold. I mean, you tell me, why was I surprised of the cold? Was I expecting a 25 C weather during Ontarian winter? Probably. Okay, you may laugh, but only for 10 seconds.

I awoke with a craving for hot dogs. Wait, did you think I was a vegetarian? Actually, I don’t know why, but there are people who assume I am. I mention I’m an aspiring writer, and they ask if I’m a vegetarian or vegan. Does that make sense? Or perhaps, it’s because I tell them I don’t eat a lot of meat (I eat mostly chicken). Well, it doesn’t matter. I have nothing against vegetarians and vegans. I wish I could do it. But, let me go back to what I was saying. I wanted a hot dog, so I ate a hot dog. Yeah… I’m a bit impulsive when it comes to food.

Anyway, I satisfied my craving, watched an episode of ‘Charmed’, and turned on my laptop. I was in the middle of editing the last parts of my short story, “Laura’s Closet” when I felt like going to the gym. Now, I only go when the weather is just a bit warmer, because I walk 30 minutes to get there – I love walking, and surprisingly, some people give me a weird look, when I tell them I walk for that long, why? You go ask them – but, my brain tried to encourage me to go. So, I decided to pack my bag and walked to the gym. I did ‘Bodypump’ (I totally recommend it), and walked back home. After the workout, I felt like I could rule the world, and I guess I can thank my brain for that.

It was all going well, until Breadcruster brain decided to strike. “A toast with Nutella sounds good about now, doesn’t it?” It said. “It won’t hurt to have chocolate!” It said. “How about another hot dog?” It said. So, I had a teaspoon of Nutella, just so it would shut up.

Oh brain, you are always so unpredictable! But, the good thing is, now my brain says I should have tea :). So, I’m happy about that! And in case you didn’t know, I have a penguin mug :p.

Image

Of course! The world does rule me today!

Leave a Reply

