What kind of questions do you get asked as a writer?

I find that quite often, when I say I’m a writer, the questions start to pour in. I’m going to post a few questions I often get asked. Feel free to share yours, as well!

1) So, you write during your free time?

-I love how people immediately assume, I’m not a full-time writer — and they’re right! I have my day job, and I write on my days off (mostly).

2) So, you’re going to be the next J.K. Rowling?

-Whenever someone asks me this type of question, they always use J.K. Rowling. I always take it as a compliment, because that means, they can see me becoming a great writer. However, I always say, I’m going to become the next ME. My favourite writers are only my inspirations, and I wouldn’t want to be compared.

3) If you don’t like a character, you can always kill it off!

-As easy as it sounds, “getting rid” of a character is a whole process. I may dislike a character, but I can’t just throw a brick at it, and kick it out of the book. There has to be a motivation behind it, and a purpose. The death of a character changes the course of the whole plot. Then again, writing a character off may be possible, depending on your novel. However, for me, that throws me off completely.

4) You must have like a thousand pages written, right? right? right?

-In an alternate universe, yes! Right now, you don’t want to know how many times, I’ve edited the first chapters.

5) Do you have a writing ritual?

-I always make a cup of tea, and listen to Enya.

6) Do you still use paper?

-Yes, I have a journal where I write my WordPress blog posts, to keep track of them. Whenever I get ideas at random times, I either use my phone or paper. It depends on the situation.

7) What’s your genre? What do you write about? What are you working on?

-My focus is Young Adult fiction/fantasy. I write short stories and poetry. I’m working on a novel that’s meant to be inspirational for future young adults. I’m finishing a short story I started years ago, but never got around to finish. I’ve also been recently inspired by my friends, so I’m working on a short story based on our conversation. These short stories will be posted here, soon!

Of course! The world doesn’t rule me today!

Leave a Reply

