10 things I often tell my characters

I’ve lost count of the (many) times I’ve changed the beginning of my book. I have changed my mind about certain characters, and introduced new ones, in hopes of leading me to a better execution of my plot. I’ve narrowed down a list of 10 things I often say to my characters, either out loud or in my head. Characters are fun to write, but sometimes they can be annoying.

1) “I wanted you to meet =insert name=. Why all of the sudden, do you want to be alone?”

2) “For the 1000th time, I’m not changing your name”

3) “You’re falling for the wrong person! Why are you doing this to me?”

4) “There’s a reason why I wanted you to skip a meal”

5) “If you keep changing your look every second, I’m never going to finish this book”

6) “I know this is fiction, but that doesn’t mean I’m gonna have monsters lurking everywhere”

7) “Are you chasing me in my dreams?”

8) “No, the ending isn’t going be ‘…and it was all a dream'”

9) “Wait, does this mean I now have to re-write the first 3 chapters?”

10) “I can’t talk to you”

Of course! The world rules me today!

 

© Ellie and My name is Ellie and this is who I am, 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to  Ellie and My name is Ellie and this is who I am, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. In addition, ‘Shares’ on social media may be used, providing full and clear link/credit is added.

2 thoughts on “10 things I often tell my characters

Leave a Reply

