Writer in a bottle

I’ve been inured to writing for a while now. It’s basically my twin, and I have some sort of relationship with it. We’re like an old married couple, honestly. If I don’t find the right words, it goes on the couch (metaphorically speaking). A witness to this fictional matrimony is Enya, the most wonderful singer in the entire universe. She has joined our fellowship (Lord of the Rings reference), and has made it very difficult to write without her gracious music playing in the background. “What? You don’t listen to rap songs? Hip hop, yo?” That’s right, I don’t. If you do, I’m cool with it, I have nothing against you, but how is “Shake yo thang you dirty b****” is going to inspire me? You’ve read my blog (hopefully), so unless I’m banging a spider, I don’t think I’d find any of those songs useful.

Adrenaline engulfs my spirit when I write. It honestly feels like I’m living my life inside a bottle, and it’s only when I write, when I’m released into the world. It’s a good bottle, though. But, you know what I mean. It’s a different world. It’s an abiding reward that doesn’t always disappoint. While it doesn’t give me magical powers (unless I write about it), it does grant me the wish to share my thoughts with the world. Forget three wishes, with me and my writing, you get infinite ones.

In many ways, I do not feel trapped in a bottle. I feel it is merely a chance to live your life and to escape to where you want to go, while still doing good to others. I like to think of it as being a pianist. I don’t play the piano, but when I see those who do, you can tell they’re being transported into another realm. They let their souls and fingers take them where they feel they must go at that moment. In my case, my piano is my keyboard.

Allow yourself a time to escape your world. But do not feel guilty, or feel you might be ungrateful, because you want to escape your bottle. It’s simply a different route you can take, while still finding a way back. What you do inside your bottle will reflect on what you do outside of it. You’re still the same person, but you’re giving yourself a different adventure. It’s okay.

Image^^^This is not a picture of a bottle, but of my former hamster (RIP) leaving his ‘bottle’. See, even hamsters let themselves loose once in a while :). I know, it’s for food, but hey, it’s their world!

Of course! The world doesn’t rule me today :D!

 

 

 

© Ellie and My name is Ellie and this is who I am, 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to  Ellie and My name is Ellie and this is who I am, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. In addition, ‘Shares’ on social media may be used, providing full and clear link/credit is added.

2 thoughts on “Writer in a bottle

  1. He’s really cute. They don’t live long do the. Life’s short for us; but they’re like on speed. The professor has reflected on how important it is to slow down and be Punchyish once in a while don’t you agree?

  2. No, they don’t :(. He passed away years ago, but I still love him dearly! He helped me cope with a loss during that time.

    I agree, always take your time, especially when you’re about to say something important to someone. Slowing down helps you put things in perspective, so it will less likely for you to regret it. Regret comes with speed. It’s always good to let loose once in a while though, to at least help you learn more about yourself. The key is good balance.

Leave a Reply

