Time to check your phone

How many of you thought, when you read ‘check your phone’, I meant ‘cell phone’? How long ago was it, when you checked your answering machine, on your landline? 500 BC? Nowadays, we just say the word ‘phone’ and everyone knows we mean cell phone. I don’t think I’ve heard someone say ‘landline’ or ‘home phone’ in a while. In my case, I only have a smart phone, and as a backup phone, Skype (how the world has changed!). I still say ‘cell’ when I refer to my ‘phone’. Honestly, sometimes my friends give me a funny look when I say ‘cell phone”.

Friend: “I know you meant cell phone! Bhahahaha.”

Me: “I know you knew what I meant, but I thought I’d be specific. You know, in case I’ve recently installed a landline”

Friend: “Have you?”

Me: Nope.

Is it that rare now? So many good memories with a landline. You could pick any shape and colour for your corded phone. Remember when you didn’t have caller id, and you knew that by answering, you wouldn’t get a telemarketer? It would actually be a friend! Today, a landline would just be a back up, or an extra accessory (because your cable company gave you a great package deal). If you’re lonely, you can always wait until a telemarketer calls you. It’s like a blind dating service, except they’re the ones who pursue you.

Technology has changed so much, I guess for the better. I mean, smart phones provide you with a lot of flexibility and convenience. But, you do kind of turn into a meerkat, when you have one. You bury yourself with your CELL PHONE, in your bed, or even in a chair while covered in a blanket. It’s almost as though, you build burrows around your house, where you can quietly enjoy the texts you receive. Heaven forbid anyone interrupts while checking your cell phone. I mean, do people actually expect you to leave your burrow? :p

Also, depending where you place your CELL PHONE, you end up doing a bit of a meerkat dance, everytime you hear your notifications. I place mine a bit high, so when I get a text, I just jump out of my chair (I like to spice things up in my life) to check. It’s like a cell phone version of ‘Pop goes the weasel’ (that IS the way the money goes, if you know what I mean).

I might just get a corded phone, and use it as decoration. For old times sake.

Image^^^ That is not a picture of a cell phone, but it might cheer you up. One of my many pictures.

Of course! The world doesn’t rule me today 😀

Leave a Reply

