Alcove

I decided to submit this post to the DPChallenge: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/24/writing-challenge-object/

Today, I am simply going to talk about the best alcove I’ve ever been in, full of diversity and warmth. One that triggers feelings and unlocks treasured memories. Where you can go when you feel sad, or feel inspirational…I’m talking about my precious mug. The alcove only my clumsiness can destroy.

Just when I need to find solace, it is always within my reach. It’s never challenging to find different methods to use it. I can use it to drink water, hot chocolate, soup, and if the mug is big enough, I can use it for oatmeal. It is a safe place to go, when you want to find your inner peace. It is your moment to pause and recant your daily failures (at least in your mind). Where no one can tell you that you are wrong. How many times have you replay scenarios over and over, while drinking tea alone, or even drinking tea in the bathtub? I know I’ve done it.

It is when I transport myself into this alcove, where I lock secrets in my mind, like a live diary. I can let myself get lost in despair, but also allow myself to resurface with a brighter outlook. Give yourself the chance to get lost in your own world for a while. It is a time where you can reflect and be vulnerable. But without the fear of judgement.

This is why I have a mug for every moment, small alcoves to remind me of what’s good and bad, and how to become a better person.

Of course! The world does not rule me today 🙂

17 thoughts on “Alcove

  1. Pingback: DPchallenge: Object | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  2. Pingback: The Evil Calculator | Alexia Jones

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: The Object | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | imagination

  5. Pingback: I Dreamed About Avril Lavigne | THE BLACK SPAGHETTI CHRONICLES

  6. Pingback: Tigger: an object – Weekly Writing Challenge | alienorajt

  7. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | A mom's blog

  8. Pingback: Injecting object | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  9. Pingback: Alarm | Stealing All the Sevens

  10. Pingback: The 6th of March 1997 – Fishkill, New York | Forgotten Correspondance

  11. Pingback: Oranges are the only fruit | litadoolan

  12. Pingback: Using FBI Documents when Writing my Mafia Memoir (Chapter Nine) | reinventing the event horizon

  13. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Object – 24 FEB 2014 | Joe's Musings

  14. Pingback: The 16th of May 1973 – Louisville, Kentucky | Forgotten Correspondance

  15. Pingback: An Insignificant Object | Wired With Words

Leave a Reply

